On Untappd, every account is public by default. What that means is your entire profile page can be seen by anyone on the internet. Your last name is always shortened to just the initial, so your last name is never shown to strangers unless you are logged into Untappd and are friends with that user.
How to Make Your Account Private
If you would like your account completely private - you can change your settings (http://untappd.com/account/privacy) and make your account private. If you do - this happens:
- Your account is listed as private but will be shown in user search (unless you turn it off in the settings)
- Only your friends can see your locations, beers, badges, etc.
- Your check-ins will be removed from public pages (beer, brewery, venues, etc)
- Your photos will be removed from public pages (beer, brewery, venues, etc)
- Your account will be removed from the Top Drinkers or Top Users section (on Beer and Venue Pages)
- You will not be able to share your check-ins to Facebook
- You will not appear on any Untappd for Business (Verified Venues) Digital Boards
- You will not appear in the "Friends List" on Brewery pages but will appear on Venue/Beer Pages with option. This is when the user taps the "Friends" section - your check-ins will not appear
- When you make your account private, and then make it public, your old photos and check-ins will not show up on public pages. Any future check-ins will be listed, but previous ones will not repopulate.
How to Export Your User Data on Untappd
If you would like an export of your user data from Untappd, you can open a ticket and request it at anytime. You will receive up to three emails depending on what data you have on Untappd:
- One email will contain your check-ins
- One email will contain your custom lists
- One email will contain your wish list
If you do not have anything added to your wish list or you have no custom lists, you will not receive an email about those.
The data will be delivered in .csv format and the download link will be active for 36 hours. You can re-request your data anytime.