With our platform’s continued growth, one thing that changes over the years is how we categorize vintages. By Untappd’s definition, a vintage is when there is a year listed on the bottle as part of the logo. This does not include the bottled date, but where the logo on the neck or bottle has a year like the following:
We know that you are very busy managing your brewery, and may not have time to log-in to Untappd every day to merge these beers, so we give you the ability to ALLOW our group of Moderators to manage these vintages for you if you would like them to. You can make this change in your brewery account settings:
This will give our Moderators the ability to merge these vintage beers when they are created by users in situations when it isn’t an actual vintage. Our goal is to help clean up vintages on Untappd to ensure we accurately represent beers that are different from one another.
By allowing us to perform vintage merges on your behalf, you are telling the community of Untappd that you do not release new versions of beers that are meant to be separate year over year.
1) If I allow this now, can I change my mind later?
Yes, you can change your mind at any time. You can change this option in your Brewery Account Settings Page. Keep in mind that if you turn this off, it will not change existing merges. Please reach out to support to get these older merges reversed.
2) What if I do have some vintages - but not all? I wouldn’t mind having the Untappd Moderators auto-merge those, but sometimes we do have vintages that I wouldn’t want to be merged. What should we do?
If you are actively managing your Untappd page, we suggest selecting “Not Allow” and to continue to manage your beers the same way as you have been. If you want Moderators to manage your vintages, we suggest you select “Allow” and then set the beers you don’t want to be touched by moderators as “Locked.” This will prevent them from being merged.
3) What if I lock a beer that is listed as a vintage - will the moderator request an unlock, the beer will be unlocked, and it will be merged?
We will not merge any vintage that is currently locked.